Class of ’59 – John A. Heldt

51exjaufawl

Thank you to the author of this book for sending me a copy in return for an honest review.

Although this is part of a series, I read it as a stand alone.

The story follows two sisters and two brothers, the sisters are from 2017, and the brothers from 1959. They cross paths when eldest brother Mark stumbles upon a time tunnel that was left by the house’s previous owner. Mark Ryan walks into 2017 and startles Mary Beth Mcentire, a young medical graduate who is visiting the current owner of the house. She and her sister Piper travel back to 1959 with Mak and meet his younger brother, Ben. The story then follows their time in 1959 when Piper decides that she wants to stay and experience the 50s.

I really enjoyed this book! Not usually being a fan of sci-fi style books I was a little apprehensive about reading it. But being a huge fan of the 50s music, fashion and stars I chose to give it a go. I am so glad that I did.

The thing that I liked most about this story was the characters. The two sets of siblings were really well written as they were very different from each other but also had similar, sibling-like qualities. Mark and Ben for example, Mark was laid back and calm, Ben was a ladies man, yet they shared a sensitive side. I loved the growing relationship between Piper and Ben, how it went from dislike, to unsure, back to dislike, to romance, back to dislike again.

I loved the things that they got up to as well. They did all of the things that I’d love to do if I got to travel back to the 50s. Hops, drive in movies, stalking icons, poodle print skirts, listening to one of my favourite artists – Buddy Holly…I did keep reading this and wish that I could have seen the 50s in full bloom.

The adventure in this story was just about right for me. It mainly focused on character relationships but made sure to add in the 50s mobster with a gun who’d appear every now and then.

The author stuck to his facts in this story. Near the end of this book came a problem that made me wonder if the author had forgotten about his time sequences (I can’t really go into more detail without spoiling) but not long after I’d thought it, the issue was brought up by one of the main characters and explained.

I really liked the ending of the story. I spent the majority of reading the book trying to guess what would happen, but it was a nice ending that I felt satisfied with after finishing.

The dialogue in this did get on my nerves a little. Characters would often simply reply to questions and comments with “I am” or “I have” rather than a simple yes or no, or elaboration. But that was the only thing about this story that really grated on me.

All in all I really enjoyed this book, to the point where I’m very likely to buy another one of John’s books in the time traveling series and read them. Thanks again John for sending it to me, very enjoyable!

You can find out more about  John A. Heldt here on his website: http://johnheldt.blogspot.co.uk/

 

Overall Raing:

4.5 Stars!!

Casting Corner

Mary-Beth & Piper McEntire – Dakota & Elle Fanning

df

Why have these two Hollywood sisters not been in a recent film together? To me they’re the perfect Hollywood sweetheart sisters since Hayley and Juliet Mills.
I can’t remeber if the sisters’ appearences were mentioned in the book, but I imagined them as brunettes, other than that…I think that the Fanning sisters would pull off the Mcentire girls incredibly. Dakota is so good at playing the chilled out, mature girl and Elle seems so rebellious and fun loving.

Mark Ryan – Aaron Johnson

aaron

The ‘Angus, Thongs and Perfect Snogging’ star played an Incredible John Lennon in ‘Nowhere Boy’. He really fits in well in that kind of era…How many modern boys could pull off a ‘Teddy Boy’ haircut?

Ben Ryan – Charlie Mcdermott

charlie-mcdermott

When reading Ben’s lines I imagined him to deliver them in the sarcastic way that Charlie portrays his most well known character, Axl from ‘The Middle’. He has a boyish baby face like I imagine Ben to have and also that bad boy persona.

Leave a comment