Fighting To Be Free – Kirsty Moseley

FightingToBeFree32_RGB300

Thank you to the publisher of this book for giving me a free copy of this book in return for an honest review.

I think I’m a little bias here as Kirsty Moseley is easily one of my favorite authors. I became obsessed with her books after reading The Boy Who Sneaks In My Bedroom Window and fell in love with her slushy romance books. I think there are only two of her books that I haven’t read, excluding Worth Fighting For, the second part of in this series which is released in December.

Fighting To Be Free didn’t disappoint me. It was typical Kirsty Moseley. The first thing that I saw was the cover. Which I thought was beautiful, so simple but still pretty intense. The model on the front is similar to how I’d imagine Jamie Cole to look and the faded background gives it that bleak, outcast kind of effect.

I really enjoyed this book. It was written in the point of view of Jamie Cole, a seventeen year old juvenile who has just been released from a four year prison sentence for murder, and Ellie Pearce, the perfect girl with the perfect life that catches his eye. After years of crime with a well known gang, Jamie now wants to stay on the straight and narrow. He meets Ellie in a nightclub after her best friend has called for a night out following Ellie breaking up with her long term boyfriend Myles. The two share an instant attraction and one thing leads to another.

thumbnail_Fighting-To-Be-Free-Quote-Graphic-#1

I really liked both characters in this book. Jamie was a real sweetie and Ellie was loyal and caring, I really rooted for the two from the word go as they were such a cute couple.

To me, Kirsty is known for her romance, and this book was the same. The chemistry between Ellie and Jamie is adorable and the slushy scenes didn’t disappoint. There was also some action in there too. Characters such as Brett and Ray, criminals from Jamie’s past, were very likable. I tend to find in some books that I get bored when reading about something other than the relationship between two main characters, but in this book, it wasn’t the case. I really enjoyed reading about Jamie’s boosts and his relationships with Brett’s gang. It seemed to uncover a little bit about his past each time.

One thing that I really liked about this book was how Jamie was made the vulnerable one. Even in modern day books you still get the damsel in distress character who needs a man to save her. However, even though Jamie is much more capable of looking after both himself and Ellie, he is displayed as the one who needs the help in this book. With a troubled past, it’s being with Ellie that keeps him sane and gives him a reason to work towards an honest life. There are moments in his point of view when he even says ‘I can’t lose her’, ‘I don’t know how I’d get by without her,’ or ‘I need her’. Ellie is definitely the support giver in this story, which I think is really good.

A few of Kirsty Moseley’s books have a theme of abuse in them; The Boy Who Sneaks In My Bedroom Window and Nothing Left To Lose. This is another book that touches the subject. Although it is mentioned and doesn’t really go into very much detail, I hope that the next book will answer a few more questions I have regarding that.

There wasn’t really anything that I disliked about this book, other than the ENDING!
Kirsty left it at a horrible cliffhanger and I honestly don’t know what to do until the next book, Worth Fighting For is released in December.

Overall, I really enjoyed this book. It didn’t beat my all time favourite Kirsty book – The Boy Who Sneaks Through My Bedroom Window, but it didn’t disappoint. I was really hooked into this book and seriously cannot wait for the next one.

Rating:

4 Stars!!!!

Casting Corner

Jamie Cole – Logan Lerman

600full-logan-lerman

By the way that Jamie’s colleagues describe him as ‘kid’ I imagined him to have a real babyface. Logan Lerman is adorable in the cheeky chappie kind of way which is why I chose him as my Jamie. Just looking at him, you’d understand why Ellie found it so hard to believe his dark past.

Ellie Pearce – Natalie Dormer

Margaery_Tyrell_Valar_Dress

Ellie is a young, fairly well off girl. The first thing that Jamie notices about her is her red hair and grey eyes. Natalie was the first person who came to mind as Ellie for me. Ignore the Game of Thrones clothing. I think that Natalie Dormer is absolutely gorgeous! I can just imagine her doing the confused head tilt that Jamie loves so much.
Although Ellie is only young, I think that Natalie is in her 30s, but she plays a teenager amazingly, I’d put her in this role in a heartbeat.

 
Coming soon!!!! The next in the series:
Worth Fighting For
I Cannot wait!!!!

Series

2 thoughts on “Fighting To Be Free – Kirsty Moseley

Leave a comment